T. Rex (Brown Album)

T. Rex was released in 1970. It was the first record under their abbreviated band name, following four albums as ‘Tyrannosaurus Rex’.

The album contains electric reworkings of old Tyrannosaurus Rex material, and some material originally recorded prior even to John’s Children (“The Wizard”). A significant portion of the songs, however, were new material. It was the album that broke the band and set them in the direction of consistent success over the next three years.

With the release of T. Rex, Ride a White Swan was released as a predecessor in promotion of the album.

Track Listing

All songs composed by Marc Bolan

Side One
No. Title Length
1. “The Children of the Rarn”   0:52
2. “Jewel”   2:46
3. “The Visit”   1:54
4. “Childe”   1:41
5. “The Time of Love is Now”   2:43
6. “Diamond Meadows”   1:58
7. “Root of Star”   2:31
8. “Beltane Walk”   2:38
Side Two
No. Title Length
9. “Is It Love?”   2:36
10. “One Inch Rock”   2:27
11. “Summer Deep”   1:42
12. “Seagull Woman”   2:19
13. “Suneye”   2:07
14. “The Wizard”   8:51
15. “The Children of Rarn (Reprise)”   0:38


  Title Label Cat# Country Year
  T. Rex (LP) Fly Records (3) HIFLY 2 UK 1970
  T. Rex (LP, Album) Cube Records 6.26292 BL Germany 1970
  T. Rex (LP, Sem) Reprise Records RS 6440 Canada 1970
  T. Rex (Vinyl, Album + LP) CBS S 64327 France 1970
  T.Rex (LP) Reprise Records RS 6440 US 1970
  T. Rex (LP, Album) Phonogram, Fly Records (3) 2326 004 Brazil 1973
  T. Rex (LP) Polydor 24 75 682 Spain 1980
  T. Rex (CD, Album, RE) A&M Records 541 011-2 UK 1998
  T. Rex (Expanded Edition) (CD, Album, RE, RM) A&M Records 982 251-3 Europe 2004
  T. Rex (LP, Album) Cube Records 2326 004 Germany  
  T. Rex (LP, Album) Cube Records HIFLY 2 Australia  
  T. Rex (LP, Album, RE) Sierra Records FEDB 5010 UK