Bolan’s Zip Gun


bolans-zip-gunThis album is the tenth studio album by T. Rex, released in 1975. It did not chart in the United Kingdom, and Marc would not chart again successfully until 1976’s Futuristic Dragon. The album was produced by Bolan, having dispensed with the services of previous producer Tony Visconti.

The album contains two contemporary single releases: “Light Of Love” (UK Chart position #22) and “Zip Gun Boogie”, T.Rex’s least successful release. Although the sound of the album was very stark and the lyrics very simple and direct, Bolan had tried to go beyond the rock format of the previous T.Rex sound and reflect his recent immersion in the US soul scene. His new partner Gloria Jones and other recent American friends, such as Gloria’s brother Richard and backing singer Pat Hall, had helped influence Bolan’s music, and he was experimenting with soul inflections all through this period at MRI Studios in Hollywood where the album was recorded.

Several of the songs had a very futuristic tone, especially “Space Boss”, “Think Zinc” and “Golden Belt”, Bolan being a great fan of science fiction. The band on this album also featured a twin-drum sound on some tracks, notably “Solid Baby”, provided by Davy Lutton and Paul Fenton. Experimentation in sound was very much the order of the day on this album.


Bolan’s Zip Gun was remastered for CD by Edsel Records in 1994 as part of their extensive T.Rex reissue campaign. A number of bonus tracks were added (see below). A companion release, entitled Precious Star (The Alternate Zip Gun), was released in 1995 which contained alternative versions, studio rough mixes, a live version and demos of the main album and bonus tracks. A combined album digipak (MEDCD718) was released in 2002.


Track listing

All tracks composed by Marc Bolan, except where indicated.

  1. “Light of Love” – 3:16
  2. “Solid Baby” – 2:37
  3. “Precious Star” – 2:53
  4. “Token of My Love” – 3:40
  5. “Space Boss” – 2:49
  6. “Think Zinc” – 3:25
  7. “Till Dawn” – 3:02
  8. “Girl in the Thunderbolt Suit” – 2:20
  9. “I Really Love You Babe” – 3:33
  10. “Golden Belt” – 2:41
  11. “Zip Gun Boogie” – 3:26
1994 CD reissue (Edsel EDCD393)
  1. “Do You Wanna Dance?” (Bobby Freeman) – 2:13
  2. “Dock of the Bay” (Steve Cropper, Otis Redding) – 2:20 sung by Gloria Jones

Precious Star (The Alternate Zip Gun) (Edsel EDCD 443)

  1. “Light of Love” – 2:22
  2. “Solid Baby” – 2:29
  3. “Precious Star” – 2:45
  4. “Token of My Love” – 3:40
  5. “Space Boss” – 3:17
  6. “Think Zinc” – 3:23
  7. “Till Dawn” – 4:54
  8. “Girl in the Thunderbolt Suit” – 2:42
  9. “I Really Love You Babe” (Precision Debating) – 3:06
  10. “Golden Belt” – 3:28
  11. “Zip Gun Boogie” (Live) – 9:11
  12. “Do You Wanna Dance?” – 2:15
  13. “Dock of the Bay” – 2:22
  14. “Solid Baby” – 6:06
  15. “Till Dawn” (Marc’s Guide) – 4:44
  16. “Till Dawn” – 4:29
  17. “Till Dawn” – 4:03
  18. “Girl in the Thunderbolt Suit” (Blue Jean Bop) – 2:39
  19. “Dishing Fish Wop” (Golden Belt) – 3:17

Bolan World

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s